Meet the 2019-2020 Interns

Meet Our Alumni

The record of achievement built by PIP alumni in the public service, academe, business, civil society, journalism and the legal profession is testament to the important role that PIP plays in developing the potential of exceptional young Canadians.

Message from Director

The ten interns will take part in one of the most comprehensive postgraduate work-study experiences in Canada. They will work closely with Members of Parliament on both sides of the House.

Alumni News

Do you have news to share with alumni? Do you want to update your contact information?
Send an email to!

Forthcoming events

Gaboury Symposium – June 19, 2019 

Alumni Association AGM – June 20, 5:30 – 7:30pm 

Alumni News

Althia Raj (PIP 2004-2005) and Roland Paris (PIP 1990-1991) chaired the 50th Anniversary Symposium in May 2019.

Temma Frecker (PIP 2001-2002) was awarded the 2018 Governor General’s History Award for Excellence in Teaching.

In Politics

Dominique O’Rourke (PIP 1995-96) was elected City Councillor in Guelph (Ward 6). Nancy Peckford (PIP 1999-2000) was elected North Grenville’s first-ever female mayor. Bradley Vis (PIP 2010-11) secured the federal Conservative Party of Canada nomination for Mission-Matsqui-Fraser Canyon. Timothy Howlett (PIP 2008-09) is an Issues Manager in the officer of the Premier of British Columbia. Arif Virani (PIP 1994-95) has been named Parliamentary Secretary to the Minister of Justice and Attorney General of Canada.


Alec Boudreau (PIP 2016-17) is a Research & Policy Analyst at the Privy Council Office, working on the Prime Minister’s Youth Council.

Claire Boychuk (PIP 2012-13) completed her McGill Law Degree, a clerkship at the Federal Court of Canada and is now an Associate at Nelligan O’Brien Payne LLP.

Jessica Brousseau (PIP 2014-15) continues her work with Immigration and Citizenship Canada, having recently made the move from the Canadian embassy in Sri Lanka to the Canadian embassy in Argentina.

Jeanette Carney (PIP 2016-17) is an assessor at the Yukon Environmental and Socio-Economic Board.

Gavin Charles (PIP 2012-13) is with the Canadian Council for International Co-operation as a policy officer.

Yves Dushimimana (PIP 2015-16) is now an analyst (Parliamentary Affairs) at the Privy Council Office.

Fraser Harland (PIP 2010-11) completed a clerkship at the Supreme Court of Canada.

Ronald Hoffman (PIP 2017-18) will be a policy analyst at Universities Canada.

Astrid Krizus (PIP 2016-17) is now a speechwriter for the Prime Minister.

Ross Linden-Fraser (PIP 2017-18) was selected for the International Development and Diplomacy Internship Programme of the United Nations.

Kathryn Martin (PIP 2012-13) began a job as a Consumer Education Officer at the Financial Consumer Agency of Canada.

Lynne Matte (PIP 2010-11) is the Director of Child and Youth Advocacy Services with the Representative for Children and Youth in Nunavut.

Constance Naud-Arcand (PIP 2014-15) joined Madalina Chesoi (PIP 2015-16), Gabrielle de Billy Brown(PIP 2015-16), Matthew Blackshaw (PIP 2016-17), and Ryan van den Berg (PIP 2016-17) at the Library of Parliament.

Kim Paradis (PIP 2017-18) follows a strong tradition of PIPs working for the Nunavut Department of Health.

Robert Peck (PIP 1981-82) retired after many years in the federal public service.

Rose St-Pierre (PIP 2017-18) will be a correspondent and editor for Radio-Canada (Windsor) starting autumn 2018.

Al-Amyn Sumar (PIP 2008-09) started a new position as a First Amendment Fellow at The New York Times.

Anoush F. Terjanian (PIP 1994-95) received a Governor in Council appointment to the Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council.

Neil Thompson (PIP 2001-02) is a Research Scientist at MIT’s Computer Science and Artificial Intelligence Lab and a Visiting Professor at the Lab for Innovation Science at Harvard.

Garth Williams (PIP Director 2008-2016; PIP 1992-93) is a Senior Policy Analyst for the Canada Research Coordinating Committee.


Innessa Colaiacovo (PIP 2013-14) is pursuing a PhD in Management at Harvard Business School.

Yves Dushimimana (PIP 2015-16) completed his Masters in Public and International Affairs at the University of Ottawa.

Mackenzie Grisdale (PIP 2010-11) completed a medical degree at the University of Calgary Cumming School of Medicine.

Alex Miller-Pelletier (PIP 2017-18) won a bourse de maîtrise en recherche from Le Fonds de recherche du Québec and will begin a MLitt in Legal and Constitutional Studies at the University of St. Andrews in Scotland.

Avnee Paranjape (PIP 2017-18) started a LLB at the University of Toronto.

Aurélie Skrobik (PIP 2017-18) will start a MPhil in International Relations and Politics at the University of Cambridge.

In the News

The National Post profiled Rose St-Pierre’s (PIP 2017-18) PIP research paper.

Chi Nguyen (PIP 2003-04) 20 years of wondering when we’d finally take a closer look at Parliament and what we expect from our political leaders

Jane Hilderman (PIP 2010-11) is featured in Power and Politics (July 2018)

Mark Dance (PIP 2010-11) and Dave Matyas, Political decision-making is speeding up, and that’s bad for democracy