Research Corner

As part of the academic component of the Programme, interns complete an original research paper on an aspect of Parliament or Canadian politics. Interns select a topic and conduct their research under the supervision of the Programme Director drawing on their unique access to people on Parliament Hill and the resources available through the Programme.

Each year, interns present “close-to-finished” draft versions of these research papers in June at a special public seminar. The Gaboury Symposium, named after former Programme Director Jean-Pierre Gaboury.

Each interns’ paper is eligible for the Alfred Hales Prize, which is named after the late MP Alfred Hales, the Programme's co-founder. A $1,000 Prize is awarded for the best paper written by a Parliamentary intern, with the first two runners-up each receiving $500. The prize-winning papers are selected by representatives of the Canadian Political Science Association, the House of Commons, the PIP alumni community, and the Social Science and Humanities Research Council.

Prize Winners

Congratulations to Gabrielle Feldmann (PIP 2020-21), who was awarded the 2022 Alfred Hales Prize at the 2022 Gaboury Symposium. Her paper, and those of past winners, may be downloaded here:

Recent Alumni Publications and Research

Ronald Hoffman, Avnee Paranjape, and Kim Paradis (all PIP 2017-18) were shortlisted for the 2019 Alf Hales Prize.

Madalina Chesoi (PIP 2015-16) presented her paper on organizing constituency offices at the Canadian Study of Parliament Group Seminar in March 2018.

Morgan Ring (PIP 2012-13) completed her PhD in History at the University of Oxford, published a monograph on Renaissance politician Margaret Lennox ("So High a Blood: The Life of Margaret, Countess of Lennox," Bloomsbury, 2017), and recently spoke at the Stratford Festival Forum’s Table Talk series.

Claire Sieffert (PIP 2016-17) was awarded the 2018 Alf Hales Prize for her paper on Senate constituency outreach in June 2017.

Aurélie Skrobik (PIP 2017-18) presented her PIP paper on e-petititions at the Canada Study of Parliament Group conference, “Spotlight on 42: Changes, Challenges and Conclusions” in September 2018.

Feodor Snavosky (PIP 2015-16) recently co-authored a paper with Matthew Kerby in Parliamentary Affairs based on his PIP research.

Paul Thomas (PIP 2005-06) completed his PhD at the University of Toronto. He was awarded a Social Sciences and Humanities Research Council postdoctoral grant at Carleton University.

Jon Weier (PIP 2000-01) co-edited Party of Conscience The CCF, the NDP, and Social Democracy in Canada with Roberta Lexier and Stephanie Bangarth.

Alumni took part in a panel organized by Anoush F. Terjanian (PIP 1994-95) at the Canadian Political Science Association’s Annual Conference. Programme Papers included:

Jon Weier (PIP 2000-01), Western University: The CCF/NDP and Parliament: Towards a Left History of Canadian Politics

Paul Thomas (PIP 2005-16), Carleton University, Getting people on the inside? The expansion of externally-supported internship programmes at the Canadian Parliament

Brock Pitawanakwat (PIP 2002-03), University of Sudbury: Anishinaabe Perspectives on Electoral Participation: Expectations, Motivations and Observations

Discussant: Alison Smith (PIP 2009-10), University of Toronto-Mississauga